Competition and winners

At every ASM, the BSGE hands out well over a thousand pounds in prizes. At the 2017 meeting, the gold award winners received a special edition Hull Monopoly to go with their cheque. The awards for video, oral, poster and video poster presentations are always hotly contested and this year was no different, with a very high standard of entries overall.

Abstract Prize Winners

In the oral presentation category, Rebecca Mallick won gold and the £200 prize for her abstract on a single centre prospective study on Laparoscopic Myomectomy.

£200 Rebecca Mallick- Gold Oral Presentation Prize
£150 Zahid Raza Khan- Silver Oral Presentation Prize
£100 Sharleen Hapuarachi- Bronze Oral Presentation Prize

Video Presentation winners

Shaheen Khazali was presented with the prized golden telescope award for his video presentation of a Laparoscopic Ureteroneocystostomy for intrinsic ureteric endometriosis – the value of the human robot. Dr Dipak Limbachia won the silver prize, having travelled from India to participate in the meeting.

£200 Shaheen Khazali- Gold Video Presentation Prize
£150 Dipak Limbachia- Silver Video Presentation Prize
£100 Keren Orly Huff- Bronze Video Presentation Prize

Video Poster Winners

The gold prize for the video poster was awarded to Oudai Ali for his presentation asking whether lighted stenting protects the ureters.

£200 Oudai Ali- Gold Video Poster Presentation Prize
£150 Nadine Di Donato – Silver Video Poster Presentation Prize
£100 George Goumalatsos – Bronze Video Poster Presentation Prize

Poster Presentation Winners

In the final section, Marlin Mubarak collected gold and £100 for the poster presentation “Clinical outcome-based prospective study following Laparoscopic excision of deep infiltrating endometriosis.”

£100 Marlin Mubarak – Gold Poster Presentation Prize
£75 Melody Taheri – Silver Poster Presentation Prize

BSGE Video Competition

The prize for the sixth BSGE video competition was announced and presented on the final day of the conference. Shaheen Khazali won in the Consultant category, receiving one year’s free membership of the BSGE. Oliver O’Donovan, Angharad Jones and Nadine Di Donato all won in the trainee section, with Nadine being recognised for two of her video submissions. The trainees all received certificates plus £250.


Forgot Password?

Join Us